Committee on Committees Meeting Minutes August 8, 2016 4:30 PM – 5:30 PM Nevins Hall 2048

Members Present: Dereth Drake, Catherine Bowers, Michelle Ritter, Kalina Winska, Debbie Paine

Visitors Present: Peggy Moch, Michael Holt,

Members Absent: Andy Ostapski

- 1. Catherine Bowers was nominated and unanimously elected as Chair-Elect for the Committee on Committees for 2016-2017 term
- 2. Update on Committee assignments
 - a. No seats to fill for A&S
 - b. LIB
 - i. Standing Committee vacancies: 3
 - c. CONHS
 - i. Standing Committee vacancies: 1
 - d. COA
 - i. Senate vacancies: 1
 - ii. Standing Committee vacancies: 3
 - iii. Statutory Committee vacancies: 1
 - e. COBA
 - i. Standing Committee vacancies: 1
 - Statutory Committee update: Ask Ray Elson or Ellis Heath to change term from 2015-2018 to 2014-2017
 - f. COEHS
 - i. Senate vacancies: 1
 - ii. Standing Committee vacancies: 1
- 3. Committee on Committee Bylaws
 - a. The committee voted on a change to the CoCo bylaws with regards to SGA. As it stands currently the language in section 3 part C of the bylaws reads:

On or before March 1, the Committee on Committees will notify the Student Government Association of the number of student vacancies on Standing Committees. The list of student appointments must be submitted to the Committee on Committees no later than April 1.

However, since SGA elections are not held until the end of March and the new senators do not take office until the last meeting of the semester in April, the current version of the bylaws does not meet the needs of the committee or SGA. As such the committee unanimously voted to change the bylaws to read:

On or before April 10, the Committee on Committees will notify the Student Government Association (SGA) of the number of student

vacancies on Standing Committees. The list of student appointments must be submitted to the Committee on Committees no later than three business days after the April SGA meeting.

b. The committee also looked at a proposed revision to section 2, part A.a. of the bylaws in regards to the make of general faculty on the standing committees. The proposed to change read as follows:

General faculty from each College of the University and Odum Library will fill 12 positions on each committee. These positions will be divided as follows:

- a. Three general faculty will be appointed from the College of Arts and Sciences.
- b. Three general faculty will be appointed from the College of Education and Human Services.
- c. Two general faculty will be appointed from the College of the Arts.
- d. One general faculty member will be appointed from the College of Business Administration.
- e. One general faculty member will be appointed from the College of Nursing and Health Services.
- f. One general faculty member will be appointed from Odum Library.
- g. One additional faculty seat on each committee will be rotated between the College of Business Administration, College of Nursing and Health Services, and Odum Library.
- h. If enough members from one college or unit are unavailable, additional members from another college or unit may be appointed.

The motion was tabled for the next meeting in order to allow each representative to bring the suggested change back to his/her respective college or unit.

c. The committee voted to change the language in Section 2, part A.d. of the bylaws in order to clarify the number of voting COSA members on each standing committee. The bylaws will now read:

One (1) Council of Staff Affairs (COSA) member recommended by the President of COSA will sit on each committee. The COSA members of standing committees are considered voting members.

- 4. The committee will meet again on Monday, October 17th at 10AM.
- 5. Adjourned at 5:30 PM.