FACULTY SENATE Est. 1991



Building for Our Next Century 1906-2006

> Chairperson Louis Levy

Vice Chairperson Philip Gunter Executive Secretary
Tracy Woodard-Meyers

Parliamentarian Ed Walker

Minutes May 17,2012

- 1. Call to Order by Dr. Tracy Meyers tmeyers@valdosta.edu at 3:33 p.m.
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the April 19,2012 meeting of the Faculty Senate. http://www.valdosta.edu/facsen/meeting/minutes/documents/FacultySenateMinutes 2011-05.pdf Minutes Approved.
- 3. New business None
- a. Report from the Academic Committee Philip Gunter pgunter@valdosta.edu No report
- b. Report from the Committee on Committees Ed Walker eddwalker@valdosta.edu

 Dr. Walker reported that they are in the process of assigning membership to the outstanding committees but nothing finalized yet.
- c. Report from the Institutional Planning Committee -Said Fares sfares@valdosta.edu

 See Attachment A for Concealed Weapons Resolution Dr. Fares reported IPC committee approved the attached resolution in the document from Michael Noll in regards to the issuance/use of concealed firearms on campus. No motion needed. Called to vote. Resolution passed unanimously.
- d. Report from the Faculty Affairs Committee Vesta Whisler vrwhisler@valdosta.edu

 See Attachment B for proposed changes to the Tenure and Promotion document Dr. Karl
 Paoletti reported for Dr. Whisler. Dr. Paoletti reported the revisions made to the language in the VSU
 Tenure and Promotion Policies. Biggest change is in 2rd paragraph, "The following policies in section
 3.1.2 were added in 2012 and apply only to new hires beginning in the Fall 2013. Language was added in order to align with the BOR policy. New wording will only affect New Hires as of Fall 2013. After much discussion motion wasn't needed voted to accept document as written Passed.

 e. Report from the Faculty Grievance Committee Theresa Thompson thompson@valdosta.edu No report.
- f. Report from the Senate Executive Secretary -Tracy Woodard-Meyers tmevers@valdosta.edu

- 1. **Standing Committee Yearly Reports**. Each Chair should be prepared to give a brief oral summary of their report to the Senate.
 - Academic Scheduling and Procedures: This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. Maren Clegg-Hyer. See <u>Attachment C.</u> voted by acclaimation to accept correction of typo on Spring 2014 calendar Passed
 - 2) **Academic Honors and Scholarships**: This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. Linda De La Garza. See <u>Attachment D</u>.
 - 3) **Athletics**: Charles Talor. This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. See Attachment E.
 - 4) Educational Policies: This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. Eric Nielsen. See Attachment F.
 - 5) **Environmental Issues**: This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. Jason Allard. See <u>Attachment G</u>. Suggestion was made to have drop-off points around campus at end of semester for students/faculty to make donations of unwanted items.
 - 6) Faculty Scholarship and Research Committee: This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. Ransom Gladwin. See Attachment H.
 - 7) **Library Affairs**: Gina Doepker. This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. See Attachment I.
 - 8) **Minority and Diversity Issues**: Paula McNeill. This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. See <u>Attachment J.</u> Miryam Espinosa-Dulanto reported for Paula McNeill
 - 9) **Student Activities**: This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. Ruth Renee Hannibal. See <u>Attachment K.</u> Deborah Hall reported for Ruth Hannibal.
 - 10) **Student Services**: Ericka Parra. This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. See Attachment L.
 - 11) **Technology**: Mary Gorham-Rowan. This committee was renewed in May 2009, and will be reviewed for renewal in May 2012. See Attachment M.

Dr. Meyer's thank everyone for their hard work. Everyone in committees are up for renewal. Committee on Committees will be working to see if modifications need to be made. Dr. Meyer's turned the meeting over to Dr. Walker, Committee on Committees Chair.

- g. Nominations and Election of Faculty Senate Officers: Ed Walker
 - 1. President:
 - a. Serves a one year term
 - b. Presiding officer of the Senate
 - c. Chairs the Executive Committee of Faculty Senate
 - d. Writes the Senate's annual report
 - e. Serves on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee

Diane Holliman nominated Tracy Meyers. Dr. Meyers accepted nomination. Aubrey Fowler seconded. There was no further nominations – Motion was made to accept Dr. Meyers by acclamation. Motion was made and seconded. Motion Passed.

2. Vice President/President Elect:

- a. Serves a two year term (serves one year as VP; one year as Pres.)
- b. Presiding officer of the Senate in the absence of the President
- c. Makes reports of all actions taken by the Senate and submits to President of the University and General Faculty at its bi-annual meetings
- d. Arranges meetings of the Senate, schedules the room, and oversees details of the meeting
- e. Serves on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee

Lai Orenduff nominated Ed Walker. Dr. Walker accepted nomination. Nomination was seconded. There were no further nominations. Motion made to accept Dr. Walker by acclamation. Motion was made and seconded. Motion passed.

3. Secretary:

- a. Serves a one year term
- b. Reviews and approves detailed minutes of the Senate (which are recorded by an assigned administrative assistant) and sends copies of minutes to members of faculty via email
- c. Acts as liaison to the administrative assistant who is assigned to record minutes and update the Faculty Senate web page
- d. Sends written notice of the regular Faculty Senate meetings and distributes to the Senators and General Faculty via email the Faculty Senate meeting agenda one week before the scheduled meeting of the Faculty Senate
- e. Serves on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee

Miryam Espinosa-Dulanto nominated Diane Holliman. Dr. Holliman accepted nomination. Nomination was seconded. There were no further nominations. Motion was made to accept Dr. Holliman by acclamation. Motion was made and seconded. Motion passed.

4. Parliamentarian:

- a. Serves a one year term
- b. Settles questions regarding the proper application of Robert's Rules of Order
- c. Serves on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee

Tracy Meyers nominated Aubrey Fowler. Dr. Fowler accepted nomination. Nomination was seconded. There were no further nominations. Motion was made to accept Dr. Fowler by acclamation. Motion was made and seconded. Motion passed.

Elections concluded.

7. Old Business

8. Discussion – Dr. Meyers discussed the electronic evaluations that were sent out for administrators to evaluate. There were concerns by some as to whether they would be anonymous. Dr. Meyers was assured by Michael Black that they would be. Dr. Moch mentioned if there were concerns to use a

library computer or any computer not your home computer. Dr. Meyers encouraged everyone to go to the Portal and submit if they hadn't already.

9. Adjournment – Meeting adjourned at 4:31 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Anita Bosch Administrative Specialist/ Faculty Scholarship Coordinator