

VALDOSTA STATE UNIVERSITY

FACULTY SENATE

est. 1991

Chairman Vice Chairman Executive Secretary Parliamentarian President H. C. Bailey Vice President L. Benjamin Dr. D. Boyd Dr. R. Hull

Minutes of June 15, 2000

The Valdosta State University Faculty Senate meeting convened at 3:30 p.m. in the University Center Magnolia Room. Members present were: President and Chair - Hugh C. Bailey; Vice President, Academic Affairs - L. Benjamin (absent); Assistant Vice President – L. Levy; Executive Secretary - D. Boyd; Parliamentarian - R. Hull; Ex-officio Senators – J. Brignati, Russ Mast, R. Devery (absent), L. Milbrandt, T. Dasher, K. Stanley, F.D. Toth (absent), M.A. Reicnenbach (absent), E. Clark (absent), C. McKay (absent), N. Argyle (absent), G. Gaumond, P. Cleveland (absent); College of the Arts: C. Coons (absent), P. McNeill (absent), V. Pennington (absent), D. Farwell, J. Wheeler (absent), T. Harding; College of Arts and Sciences: D. Bogyo, L. Hanes, A. Lazari (absent), D. Sewell (absent), M. Smith (absent), C. Walker, B. Begstrom, B. Brown (proxy L. Hanes), J. Elza, B. Evans (absent), T. Meyers (absent), V. Soady (absent), B. Adler (absent), S. Goel (proxy D. Boyd), H. Harper (absent), J. Hiers, S. Seyfarth (absent), J. Wilkinson (absent); College of Business Administration: B. Caster (absent), F. Ware (proxy M. Holland), M. Holland, A. Reddy; College of Education: R. McClung, M. Garber (absent), J. Hummel (absent), L. Wiley (absent), P. Anderson (absent), S. Andrews (absent), F. Smith (absent), T. Root, C. Backes, B. Gerber (proxy A. Brovey), A. Gibbs (absent), A. Brovey, K. Wells, M. Venn (absent); College of Nursing: D. Ebron (absent), D. Roush (absent); Division of Social Work: R. Vodde (absent); Odum Library: S. Thomas; COSA: Pat Rozier, Debi Britt; Also in attendance: J. Oliver, COBA

D. Boyd stated that because there was not a quorum in attendance, the Senate could not come to order. He recognized H. Bailey for Senate announcements. H. Bailey stated that he appointed J. Wheeler to be Senate Parliamentarian fpr 2000-2001. He recognized D. Boyd for two years of service to the Senate as Executive Secretary and thanked him for an outstanding job. Because there were 27 Senators in attendance and a quorum requires 33, H. Bailey dismissed the meeting.